Sick baby at home (and Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe)

My baby is sick today.  Technically, I guess, she’s not a baby – she’s a freshman in high school, 14 years old and five foot ten inches tall – but she is my youngest, she’s not feeling well, and as far as I’m concerned, she’s still my baby.

She came home from a birthday/sleep-over yesterday afternoon with a sore throat which by the time she went to bed had become sniffles and a cough.  She barely got any sleep so when she came into my room at 6:30 this morning showered and dressed for school to ask if she could stay home (for the first time this year) I took one look at the dark circles around her eyes, her red nose, her dry cracked lips and said “go put on your pj’s, take some cold medicine, and crawl back into bed”.  What else could I say?  She’s my baby and I love her to pieces.

I’d already promised Thing 1 I would make peanut butter cookies next, Thing 2 requested that I add chocolate chips and make them today.  She’s my baby and she’s sick, what else could I do?

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

2 cups flour

1 cup oats finely ground in food processor or blender

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 cup unsalted butter, softened

3/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup molasses* or honey

2 eggs

1 1/2 cup peanut butter

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 12 ounce package chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix flour, oats, baking soda, salt, and baking powder in a bowl

In a mixing bowl cream butter with peanut butter.  Add sugar and continue to cream.  Add molasses, eggs, and vanilla.  Mix well.  Stir in flour mixture just until mixed.  Stir in chocolate chips.

Use 1/2 ounce cookie scoop or use hands to roll into 1″ balls and place on parchment or silpat lined cookie sheet.  Using fork tines, press dough balls until slightly flattened.  Bake for 9 minutes.  Let cool on sheet.  Makes about 80 cookies.

*Molasses will make the cookies taste like they were made with brown sugar, honey will lend it’s own flavor.

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

