Vehicle rental (and a little something for breakfast)

Today is the day my truck had to go in for the body work (a door was opened into the rear wheel well) and I had to get a rental while it’s being repaired.  I think my choice in vehicle is going to be a big disappointment to Harley Guy.  You see, he’d have checked out the lot to see what was available and made his decision based on what he’s never driven before – an opportunity to try out something new.  I’m afraid I’m no longer that adventurous, I don’t even drive on the freeways here.  What I did was explained that I drive a Honda Ridgeline and wanted something that would have the same feel and passenger room.  I ended up with a nice little Dodge truck (it’s even the same color as mine) that I think is a pretty close match in size and handling.

Harley Guy would probably have gone for a sports car, something fast and totally impractical for driving my girls to and from school.  Something that he would have liked to drive back when we were kids, when I was in high school and he was in the navy.  Back then he rode a bike too, but it was a Honda; a Harley wanna be.  And I drove a VW.  We’ve both owned a lot of vehicles in the 30 years we weren’t together.  Most of his were practical most of mine weren’t.  And now I’m the one that has to remember I have two girls that have to be chauffeured around, and he no longer needs a “work” vehicle.  Time sure does change things.

Since the girls were still in bed when I got home I thought it would be nice for them to wake up to the smell of pancakes, here’s the recipe I use.

2 cups flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup sugar

2 cups milk

2 eggs, beaten

1/4 cup oil (plus additional to grease griddle)

1 Tablespoon lemon juice

1 teaspoon vanilla

Mix dry ingredients together in large bowl.

Mix liquids together in medium-sized bowl.

Pour liquid into dry and stir just until blended.

Heat griddle over medium low heat.  Grease lightly between each batch.

Spoon about 1/4 cup of batter onto griddle for each cake.  Cook until edges are dry and bubbles that form on top do not close when popped.  Flip over and continue to cook until bottom is lightly browned and pancake is cooked through.    Makes about 2 dozen.

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

