What a day! (and speedy pasta pie recipe)

It started with a quick check of county taxes for my property so I could work some more on taxes.  Property showed it was now owned by a trustee.  I did a quick check and found bank statements showing that property tax checks for the last 2 years had all cleared with time to spare.  A call to the county treasurer’s office turned up a typo mistake by them in the parcel number and a follow-up e-mail to me shows they are going to correct.  Fast forward a couple of hours and I’m in the grocery store really happy with myself because it’s one of my better coupon days.  When I came out I noticed a person parked next to me checking out my vehicle.  I walked over to them and saw that their door had been whipped out of their hand by the wind and put a crease in the wheel well of mine.  Insurance info exchange, pick the girls up after school, dentist visits (yea, no cavities), then a call to insurance company and an appointment set up with insurance inspector for tomorrow.  Not the day I had planned at all.  Thing 1’s birthday is coming fast and I haven’t been able to plan a thing (let alone get her gifts).

Dinner had to be something really quick and easy, I mean I really needed a break here.  I pulled a quart of spaghetti sauce out of the freezer to thaw, cooked up a pound of pasta – I used penne, thawed out a one pound package of spinach then squeezed out the extra moisture and opened an 8 ounce package of mozzarella cheese (Harley Guy won’t touch anything with ricotta, parmesan or romano in it but he likes mozzarella just fine).  I mixed the pasta with the sauce and put half into a 10 inch pie plate that had been sprayed with non-stick cooking spray.  I spread the spinach out in a thin layer then sprinkled the cheese over this.  The rest of the pasta went over the top and it went into a 350 degree oven for half an hour.  We like the slightly dry top of the pie but you could certainly sprinkle parm, romano, or even more mozzarella over the top 5 minutes before you pull it out.  I served it with sweet cherry peppers and Mediterranean olives I had in the fridge.  I also made a loaf of garlic bread.  Easy cheesy and everyone’s happy (except Thing 2 because it’s her night to do the dishes).

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

